Letter to my Daddy~

Image

 

Happy Fathers Day Daddy
I wish that you were here
To see what we have all become
Since the days that you were near

I still think about you Daddy
& how many years have past
They say time heals all wounds
But this kind of pain just lasts

I don’t mind though, Daddy
I carry you in my heart
I tell my kids about you
& in our family your still a part

Would things have turned out different
If on that fateful night
You somehow wasn’t on the road
The night we lost our light

Those questions can’t be answered
But Daddy you’d be proud
The way mama held us together
Cause givin’ up wasn’t allowed

So even though I cannot see you
I wanted just to say
I really miss you Daddy
& Happy Fathers Day.

About Kat

I'm like my Father but not, in that I mean I love to create, perhaps because I was created by THE Creator. I like to write, I love photography, I sing really loud (when no one can hear). I have found that in writing I learn a lot about myself. Often I read back over what I wrote & sometimes think to myself, did I write that? I believe sometimes in my writing, my Father talks to me (especially in my personal journal). Writing for me is an escape, a release, a discovery, & art all at the same time. I also enjoy photography, however with photography I have the privilege of capturing a feeling and saving it for later, like bottling an emotion; I can experience it again or share it with another. Photographs tell their own stories. They are provocative, endless, & silent at the same time. A picture can stir up emotions, feelings of anger, excitement, or lull you to sleep. A picture can say so much without using even one word. Drawing is yet another form of expression I enjoy, in creating I am able to discover the world and myself. Life is simply amazing and often breathtaking. It is an experience that is meant to savored.

Posted on June 17, 2012, in Fathers Day, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. “Because God is never cruel, there is a reason for all things. We must know the pain of loss; because if we never knew it, we would have no compassion for others, and we would become monsters of self-regard, creatures of unalloyed self-interest. The terrible pain of loss teaches humility to our prideful kind, has the power to soften uncaring hearts, to make a better person of a good one.” – Dean Kootz
    He is somewhere listening, loving, and waiting. All that you do matters to him as it did before and even not knowing him, only knowing you I can say without hesitation he must have been a good man. Never let go of what matters as time nor death will change what is important to your heart…. Love you mom very beautiful poem….
    -Czac

Leave a Reply

